Is Your Voter Registration Up to Date?

(TargetDailyNews.com) – The presidential election occurs less than a year from now, and dozens of Senate seats are up for grabs, too. Are you 100% sure you’re registered to vote?

Voter registration varies from state to state and isn’t always straightforward for everyone. Some states allow you to register automatically when you get your driver’s license or apply for statebenefits, while others don’t, for example.

Depending on where you live, you may have a host of candidates to vote for to occupy local offices, such as a town select board, school board, city council, district attorney, and more. In some states, even the sheriff is elected by voters.

It’s good practice to make sure you are registered well before election day. If you’ve moved or otherwise changed your address, it’s wise to contact your local election board to make sure you’re on the voter rolls so you don’t become disenfranchised by accident.

States set different deadlines, too.

USA Today has a complete list of state requirements for voter registration. Below is a sampling of states that illustrates the varying requirements. This will be especially useful if you have recently moved to a different state.

Remember, all under the Constitution, all U.S. citizens 18 years of age or older are eligible to vote. But in some states, a felony conviction can take that right away.

Arkansas—This state requires voters to fill out a paper Voter Registration Application. Contact your local election board to find out where to drop off or mail the application. All applications must be postmarked (if sent by mail) at least 30 days before the election. If dropped off in person, you must do so 30 days before election day.

Florida—In the Sunshine State, you can register in person at your local election board, by mail by sending an application to your county’s Supervisor of Elections Office, or online.

Note—Florida residents lose their right to vote if a court has deemed them “mentally incapacitated.”

Texas—Texas requires registration at least 30 days before any election. In the Lonestar State, you can register in person, by mail, or online through the Secretary of State’s portal. 

Don’t forget to check if your state requires you to present identification at the ballot box. The non-partisan National Council of State Legislatures has a complete list of voter ID requirements state by state.

Copyright 2023, TargetDailyNews.com